Change happens. With technology, change seems to be accelerating, or at least the waves of change seem to come more frequently.

I feel I’ve developed a certain rhythm for riding these waves. Part of this rhythm is a regular evaluation of where I stand, a sort of agile career methodology. I’m in one of those evaluation periods right now.

What wave is next?

In January 2007 I found myself jumping on the social media wave, in which I still ride to some degree.

In Spring of 2008 I found myself jumping on the cloud computing wave, in which I’m still totally drowning in.

What wave is next?   Mobile?   Big Data?   Semantics?

There are many things I consider when evaluating what I will focus my attention on. I want to make sure I will be investing in learning that will benefit my professional development.

One thing I look for are constants within all the waves I ride. One constant I’ve seen between Social media and Cloud Computing are APIs. If you take a deeper look:

  • Social Media – YouTube API and Flickr API are at the heart of the social media movement.
  • Social Networking – Facebook API Platform and the Twitter API play a big part in the growth and adoption of social networking.
  • Cloud Computing – The two undisputed kings of cloud computing, Amazon Web Services and Google both depend on API to deliver their services

APIs are playing a monumental role in delivering the Internet today. What is next?

  • Mobile – APIs make mobile applications possible and help drive innovation in the mobile space.
  • Big Data – APIs allow data to be gathered, shared, and available for visualizations and mashups.
  • Semantics – APIs will drive discovery and meaning around links, documents, and other objects.

Pick most any area of business today and you can see APIs either driving or emerging as a major player within that industry.

Change is upon me again, whatever the next wave is, I feel I’m secure in focusing on APIs.

I am leaving a position as a Director of Technology with a focus on cloud computing to a position as an API Evangelist and with a focus on the business of APIs.

This is where I feel future of cloud computing is, as well as many other sectors of our society, throughout business, education, government and much more.

Change is exciting.  More to come.

Enhanced by Zemanta
