I was looking through President Obama’s 2014: A Year in Photos today, and while many of the pictures evoke emotion for me, but this one in particular really summed up for me, the very short time I spent in Washington D.C., as a Presidential Innovation Fellow.

The number one lesson I walked away with from my time in Washington D.C., was a respect for the scope that exists is DC. Everything is big. Everything is under scrutiny. Everything is operating at a scale, I never had experienced before. If you think you get it, and have never worked there–you know nothing.

I respect anyone who can actually get ANYTHING done in this evironment–knowing this, I understand that my role is purely from the outside-in. I’m not saying everything there has the best possible motives, but you have to respect anyone getting ANYTHING done in an environment, where everything you do is being so heavily scrutinized.

from http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/KinLane/~3/AtZCmnVRZDI/this-reflects-what-it-felt-like-for-me-to-work-in-washington-dc-each-day

